Miso Note: Miso, a Japanese condiment, is a fermented paste made from beans and grains. Beans used can include soybeans, chickpeas, and adzuki beans, all of which are gluten-free. Grains used can include rice, millet, amaranth, and quinoa, which are gluten-free, or wheat, barley, and rye, which are not. To keep this dish gluten-free, you’ll need to look closely for a brand of miso paste that is gluten-free. I like the Miso Master Organic Mellow White and Dom Miso that is marked as certified gluten-free.